What’s new today…a peek at what I have been making

Rose Onie Scarf in Silver Grey
Rose Onie Scarf in Silver Grey

What’s new today and a peek at what I have been making.  I just finished one of the Rose Onie Scarves in a lovely Silver Grey.  Again I used the Diamond Yarn luxury Aran weight Super Wash Merino Wool.  The silver grey has a hint of blue undertone to it which adds such a lovely touch.  I just finished a Rose Onie design in a collar neck warmer style scarf.  You can see a picture below.   The price point will be lower too.  This one is the longest version at 39 to 40 inches long.  It also comes in a slightly shorter version of 35 inches long with a smaller price tag.  Goes great with a shirt or use on a jacket.  Can be worn tied up as a sculptural neck warmer too.  See more of my Rose Onie scarves at www.intricateknits.etsy.com  or my website at www.vbaberdesigns.com

 

Rose Onie Collar Scarf
Rose Onie Collar Scarf

The Rose Onie Neck Warmer, Collar Scarf has been playing in my mind for months.  I wanted to make a version of the Rose Onie Scarf that has the same essence, but smaller size.  I actually started this scarf yesterday morning and finished designing and making it last night.  Like I said it had been in my mind for while so I had lots of mind time to figure out the design and change it in my head before I started it.  I like designing most on a whim and just seeing what I end up achieving.  Sometimes there are failures but most of the time it is a successful venture for me.  Though I have to say I have been designing this way for quite some time and at the beginning it was a lot of failures.  Practice makes perfect they say, well at least it makes you better at it.

I love the challenge of trying to figure out problems with the design as I work.  It’s just what works best for me when I am designing.  Kind of a free form method, it is exciting, but you do have to expect some UFO’s along the way.  I try to figure out what to do with those too as I don’t like to throw out the yarn.  Sometimes you just have to unravel and start again.  I find it is worth the risk just to see what I can design from scratch.  Don’t worry, I design the conventional way too, this is just more fun for me.

Rose Onie Silver Grey combo
Rose Onie Silver Grey combo

Here is a picture of the Rose Onie Collection in the Silver Grey with the Long Scarf, Fingerless Gloves and the new Ear warmer.  It is available on my Etsy store as a collection and each separately.

Check your local yarn store to purchase this lovely yarn.  If you live locally in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada you pick up some of this fantastic yarn at www.rivercityyarns.com This great knitting store has plenty of yarns to choose from with all kinds of great knitting and crochet accessories.  Their courses are fabulous and I have taken many, always impressed.

Off to blog about the “Water Works” Collection I have been working on for the Fall and Winter.  A little something to keep your favourite lake, ocean and beach memories near you to warm the colder days.  Have a great one today!   Don’t forget to be inspired by things around you.

 

10 thoughts on “What’s new today…a peek at what I have been making

    1. I am glad you like it. Actually it is available in a great red. Here is a link to my etsy store where you can see the colours. Just check out this scarf and on one of the pictures it shows the other colours available. I also have 2 sizes to choose from. The one here is the longer one. All the Rose Onie Collection is available in these colours. Also have a deep purple I haven’t made up yet. I too love it in red. Gives a great punch of colour. Thanks for popping by. http://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/159094394/roseonie-scarf-silver-grey-crochet-scarf?ref=shop_home_active

  1. Can I please borrow your brains, just for a day or two? 😉
    As always these are awe-inspiring. I look at your store all the time and just want to buy everything, you’re so creative and the designs are so whimsical. Bravo!!

Leave a Reply

