Some Soup for you! Market Fresh Vegies

Market Fresh Soup
Market Fresh Soup

Woke up this morning feeling a little under the weather and immediately decided I needed some soup to change the weather! Ever watch Seinfield, the episode “No Soup for You”, well today it’s “Some Soup for You!”.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2lfZg-apSA  You can watch the Soup Episode here, so funny and one of my favourite Seinfield episodes.  Inspired by my recent visit to the Farmers Market where I picked up an amazing array of wonderful vegetables including sweet peppers, carrots, green onions and some baby corns.  Yes, you saw it right.  We have a fantastic Organic Farmer who grows unique things like baby corns, green onions and other onions, snap peas, sugar peas, kale, beets of all kinds, peas, potatoes etc…… and wonderful carrots. Their website is http://www.peasonearth.ca/

Market Vegetables
Market Vegetables

I started first with making a fresh pot of homemade chicken stock.  You can use a bought version of your favourite stock, any kind will do.  I make mine as I have a lot of allergies to work around and this way I don’t have to worry about what is in it.  🙂  Side note, there is nothing like homemade stock.  The flavour is so incredible and you can add what you like to change it.  I caramelize the vegies first to give additional flavour and colour then add the chicken bones (roasted)  and water spices etc.  Cook for at least 4 hours to intensify the flavours.  Again, by all means used the already made ones, it is much easier and they are great too.

I chopped up all the vegies and added them to the soup.  Pick whatever vegies you like. Here is what my soup consisted of:

1 to 2 boxes of stock or a pot of homemade stock.

6 to 8 carrots,

2 sweet peppers any colour you like, I used red,

2 Green Onions

8 Baby Corns, you can substitute with 1 cup of corn

1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger (optional)

1 bunch of fresh basal chopped or 1 to 2 tsp dried (I love basal, you can add less if you want)

Add salt, pepper, garlic powder or fresh garlic,

and a 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to brighten the soup.

Add your favourite noodles or rice,

At this point you can some protein like chicken, fish or shrimp would be wonderful.  I did mine without protein this time. Cook for at least half an hour.  Enjoy your Market Fresh Soup.

I am enjoying mine as I write this blog and have to say it definitely changed my day.  Perfectly light in flavour. It is what I call Natures Antibiotic.  All the health properties of the onions, garlic, and other vegetables just perk you up in no time.

Soup for you!
Soup for you!

I paired the Market Fresh soup with some Green Onion cakes I made the day before.  The is the recipe I used for that http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Green-Onion-Cakes/  These Green Onion Cakes turn out great and really compliment the Asian flair of the soup flavours of ginger, garlic, green onions, baby corns, red peppers, red pepper flakes etc.

What beautiful colours together in my bowl of deliciousness.  Noodles looking like yarn just waiting for me to work some magic and bring them all together to form a new and exciting design.  For today I will be eating that delicious design, but I am inspired to use the colours in the future for something delectable to wear.

Off to eat more Soup for You!  Hope you enjoy and try it out today.

2 thoughts on “Some Soup for you! Market Fresh Vegies

Leave a Reply

