Waterfall Serenity…Waterfall scarf

Waterfall Scarf, Ocean colours
Waterfall Scarf, Ocean colours

Waterfalls flowing down the rocks, the sounds, the serenity, just bliss.  A few years ago my family and I decided to hike up Johnstons Canyon in the Banff, Alberta area.  A wonderful and amazing hike that is well used and plenty of people along the way.  It was an exciting adventure trekking up that path, luckily well groomed.  Then it hits you at the top, this spectacular view of the waterfall rushing over the mountains edge along the canyon back to the base of the mountain.  Not far is the famous Lake Louise nestle in the mountains near Banff, Alberta.  This lake has the most amazing colour, a beautiful turquoise abounds from the water.  I chose this wonderful yarn from Alberta Rose Alpacas, a local farm whom I buy wonderful hand painted yarns from www.albertarosealpacas.com.  The colour spoke to me right away that I needed to incorporate Lake Louise into the scarf with colour.   I am obviously drawn to water and have had the pleasure of living by bodies of water years including the

Waterfall Scarf, Ocean Colours
Waterfall Scarf, Ocean Colours

ponds I now live near.  Our holidays usually involve being near water at some point so I can get my fix of serenity and bliss.  I also used Malabrigo Rios on the Ocean colour Waterfall scarf, which is one of my favourite worsted weight yarns to use.  To wear as a neckwarmer as shown here just tie the bottom of the Waterfall strands together where you want them.

The next Waterfall scarf is done in the Sunset colour way as one of my favourite moments by any waters edge is right at sunset, I would say sunrise too, but I am not a morning person in any way, hence the sunset!  I mixed two different hand painted yarns with the Asland Trends Baby Llama and Silk yarn.

Waterfall scarf, sunset colours
Waterfall scarf, sunset colours

Each of these designs have a slightly different effect due to the colours.  I will be making this design in a solid colour as well so it speaks of the sculpture and texture and is not distracted by the colour.

The Calming Waters longer scarf is now available shown at the bottom of this blog.  Here are a few pictures as it can be worn in different ways and even as a cozy neck warmer, just pin the broches where you want it to stay.   There is a choice 2 broches with the longer scarf from a collection of 4 available.  See this link for more information about this scarf below. https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/163723236/calming-waters-scarf-long-in-hand?ref=listing-shop-header-2

The Calming Waters Collection is now available and I will be adding a smaller neck warmer soon with the addition of the broches in my previous blog to give a smaller choice in design with a smaller price tag.  I will be designing more for the collection since it is a huge inspiration in my life and I always long to be near the waters edge.  Now I can wear my favourite memories with me and feel it always near.

To view the Waterfall scarves and more information about them visit these links.

https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/163790188/waterfall-scarf-in-hand-painted-merino?ref=listing-shop-header-1

https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/163790818/waterfall-scarf-in-hand-painted-merino?ref=listing-shop-header-0

Calming Waters Scarf Long
Calming Waters Scarf Long

 

Calming Waters Scarf, Long
Calming Waters Scarf, Long

3 thoughts on “Waterfall Serenity…Waterfall scarf

Leave a Reply

