Thinking of Spring…New Cotton Designs

As the cold continues outside my door I can’t help but look forward to the warmer days of Spring.  With that in mind I have been working on some new cotton designs perfect for the warmer weather, but that can still be worn in the colder days and keep you warm and cozy.  The cotton designs are a great option for those with allergies to wool.  I will be adding many more designs to my collection both for Spring and Summer as well as heavier weight designs perfect for the Fall and Winter.  You can see more of these new cotton designs by Valerie Baber Designs  at www.intricateknits.etsy.com

One of the designs I wanted to find a non-wool option for was my Rose Onie scarf collection.  Due to the fact that most cottons do not have the “bounce” that wool has it makes it difficult to “sculpt” with.  I think I found the answer with a lovely Cotton and Alpaca blend that has a great “bounce” to it.  My longer Rose Onie scarf will be available in this option.

As well I will be adding some of my current designs in cotton and adding new ones in a wonderful cotton I found from Spain.  It has a beautiful twist to the yarn and is finished in a high quality finish.  How a cotton yarn is finished and/or made is really important in it’s quality.  I prefer to pick the higher end yarns to the design lasts for years to come.   I want to expand and add something new to my collection this Spring.  I am still in the process of being inspired, or waiting for inspiration that is.   I will post more pictures of my latest designs soon.

GREAT GIVEAWAY:  Don’t forget tomorrow morning I announce the giveaway which begins at 8:00 am Eastern time, (Toronto, Canada)  It will run until Friday February 14th, 2014 at 6:00 pm.

Leave a Reply

